theslowlowdown

Drinking Like a Viking – Locally.

One of the great challenges in a slow food diet is how to get drunk. I’m of the opinion that a delicious fermented beverage is great for productivity, creativity, and having of good times.  If you’re 21 years of age of course. We’re trying to eat and drink within our local environs though, and let’s face it, Ketel One travels a LONG way to make it into my glass with its good friend tonic water.  Finding local booze is tough, finding AWESOME local booze is even harder.

Enter the fantastic gentlemen of Golden Coast Mead.  They make an incredibly delicious product just a short 40 minute drive from me.  Not to mention, that with their in house honey production (bee hives!), they’re running an incredibly low impact operation.

Mead is one of the oldest known alcoholic beverages – vikings and other assorted barbarians were fermenting honey and water to get their party on thousands of years ago. Speaking from the experience born of multiple scientific explorations of its effects, I can safely say that its fun in a bottle. It tastes awesome, doesn’t seem to give you a hangover, and it comes from San Diego!

So next time you’re in my hood, check out Golden Coast Mead. And please, let me know about your favorite local booze – I want to test it out next time I head your way!

This entry was published on April 9, 2012 at 7:14 pm. It’s filed under Slow Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Drinking Like a Viking – Locally.

  1. I’m lucky enough to live in a wine growing region. While I can’t say that I like them all, I really really like a few and have fun working my way through them. We’ve done a day trip through many of the local wineries and I’m looking forward to doing it again this year.

    • Wish I like more of our local wines! There’s a small region just north east of here, and while they’re getting there with their production methods – well, I’m just a damn snob. Dedicated to the slow food cause as I am, I’m going to keep giving those wines a shot…wine is wine, right? I’m currently finding them to pair beautifully with pizza.

      • You mean there is something it doesn’t pair well with? Though I have tried a few wine paring courses where the same wine with different foods tasted completely different.

        Everything goes well with pizza.

  2. The Slow Foodies need more insightful humorists such as yourself. I shared your link because you made me smile, and think. We’re in this together, and we’re getting better at it . . . Thank you, again, for the thinking smile . . ._/\_. . .

    • Thank you so much Mark. It’s a group journey, and quite frankly, there’s no fun to be had if you take things too seriously. A light hearted, but tenacious approach will have the most profound effect in the long run – I’m out to make slow food accessible, and have a damn good time while doing it. Couldn’t be happier to have you along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

