theslowlowdown

Fennel in Cream

I adore fennel. The licorice-y, subtle flavor just gets me going.  It’s a beautiful addition to most savory profiles. Thank god, because I’ve had a surplus of it in my CSA for the last 2 months.  Here’s an insanely easy, ridiculously impressive, and obscenely delicious recipe. Serve it as a side dish with some organic lamb, and you’ll die happy.

Fennel in Cream

2 – 3 bulbs of fennel, stalks removed, cut into quarters

2 cups heavy cream (bonus points for using a local dairy!)

1.5 cups grated parmesan (don’t even look at the stuff that comes dehydrated in a can)

1/2 stick unsalted butter, cubed

Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Toss together cream, 1 cup parmesan, fennel, and salt and pepper.  Transfer to a baking dish (again, as always, love my le creuset), and cover. Foil if you don’t have an awesome teal le creuset, the cover if you do.  Bake for 60 minutes. Remove cover, toss the rest of the parmesan over the top, and bake for another 30.  Serve hot.

 

Whoever you’re cooking for now thinks you’re ascending to godhood.

This entry was published on March 29, 2012 at 12:43 am. It’s filed under recipes, Slow Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

15 thoughts on “Fennel in Cream

  1. I adore fennel too! Great recipe.

  2. It’s so versatile. Thanks!

  3. I have to drive two hours to find fennel! Tried to explain what it was to the local grocer and, well…I still have to drive two hours to find fennel. This sounds yummy and so simple.

  4. I also adore fennel but typically roast it in the oven. This is a lovely sounding dish but maybe a bit rich for my constitution.

  5. Thanks! I’m going to have to try this with the veal! Learning how to work with veal…and finding new side dishes!

  6. Oh Yum! You’re right – this would be perfect with the lamb (http://heikeherrling.com/2012/03/27/roasted-marinated-lamb/). I normally just roast my fennel with dried chilli but this sounds far yummier (albeit, perhaps less healthy). I imagine this would make a great side to a whooping steak too. Must try this one! thanks, Heike

    • I love the idea of roasting it with dried chili! I’ll have to give that a go – this recipe is sheerly intended for bacchanalian celebrations and when you feel like you need to add a little junk to the trunk.

  7. Thanks for the comment on my blog. This sounds delicious!

  8. This sounds divine! I will definitely have to try it out…here is a fennel recipe I love too…the taste of fennel is subtle…but it is the only way I can get my husband to eat it 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2011/12/02/braised-pork-with-orange-and-fennel/

  9. Sounds glorious. I love fennel and I love cream. If you still have fennel left, one thing I do is slice very finely (thank you, food processor) a raw fennel bulb and a bunch of radishes, and then dress them with a little olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and pepper. Not nearly as insanely luxurious as your recipe, but very refreshing and quick to prepare.

  10. This recipe deserves a round of applause for the ingredient list alone! Great work.

  11. The ingredients alone are worthy of applause! Great work!

Leave a Reply

