theslowlowdown

Potato Salad, Italian Style

I grew up in an Italian family. Explains a lot about my deep, obsessive love of food. The Slow Food movement originated in Italy, and it’s really no surprise. Italians excel at transforming whatever they have on hand into something delightful. Coax the most flavor possible out of whatever you have on hand, make sure you have good company to dine with, and you’re in store for a superlative meal. It’s the best mentality to take when trying to move towards a local diet. And quite frankly, a great life philosophy.

This weeks CSA came with a somewhat unnecessary amount of potatoes. I love potatoes, and will eat them mashed, baked, etc until the cows  come home.  Boil and mix with butter day after day is simply not a means of expanding my kitchen creativity, and well, no one needs that much butter. I’m not Paula Deen here. So in the name of creativity, and honoring that fantastic Italian heritage, I threw together an Italian style potato salad in the same way I’ve seen my grandmother make it.  The best part about this salad is its lack of mayo – don’t have to worry about refrigerating if you’re out for a picnic!

This is a great base to tweak as you see fit – sub in sweet potatoes or taro if you have them!

 

Italian Style Potato Salad

6 medium potatoes, cooked and cubed (I like reds, yukon golds, and peruvian purples – the colors are fun!)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup chopped red onion

3 tomatoes, quartered (go plum for a real Mediterranean flavor – I prefer using local heirlooms)

1/3 cup olive oil

3 Tbs red wine vinegar

5 leaves chopped, fresh basil

1 tsp chopped fresh oregano (dried is ok if you don’t find fresh – its an easy thing to grow at home)

Salt and pepper to taste

 

This is a really complicated recipe.  In a large bowl, toss all ingredients together.  Refrigerate for at least an hour prior to serving.

 

 

 

This entry was published on March 11, 2012 at 7:33 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Potato Salad, Italian Style

  1. clairewrites on said:

    No-mayo potato salad sounds perfect, since my husband is not a big fan of mayo. Thank you for the recipe, I’m going to try it with my local CSA potatoes.

  2. My favorite kind of dressing for a potato salad!

  3. I agree with unrefined. I steer clear of those creamy salads but this one sounds great.

Leave a Reply

