theslowlowdown

the s(low) down

Most likely, you’ve happened across this page after you heard your pretentious foodie friend rambling on about Alice Waters, Michael Pollan, and their ‘incredibly enlightening’ experience at your local, reservations months in advance farm-to-table restaurant.    Lucky you, google took you here. Read this religiously, and you’ll out hip your pretentious locavore buddy in no time.  You’ll also explore the slow food movement with me, and find a guide to making local food an integral part of your healthy lifestyle.  I’m learning right along with you, and can’t wait to hear your stories too.

First off, let’s define exactly what we’re talking about. Straight from the horse’s mouth, here’s the run down from Slow Food International’s website…

Slow Food is a global, grassroots organization with supporters in 150 countries around the world who are linking the pleasure of good food with a commitment to their community and the environment.

A non-profit member-supported association, Slow Food was founded in 1989 to counter the rise of fast food and fast life, the disappearance of local food traditions and people’s dwindling interest in the food they eat, where it comes from, how it tastes and how our food choices affect the rest of the world.

Today, we have over 100,000 members joined in 1,300 convivia – our local chapters – worldwide, as well as a network of 2,000 food communities who practice small-scale and sustainable production of quality foods.

Having been in the restaurant business for years, I’ve seen myriad food fads.  When I was first exposed to the slow food movement (rather later than I should have been, I suppose), I found it to be an excellent solution to many things I had questions about.  Whether it was how to feed myself healthier, how to buy product for my restaurants in a more affordable manner, how to improve my home cooking, how to draw in new business to store fronts, how to feel ethically and morally superior to my friends… buying local provided great avenues for success.  Exploring slow food has helped me slow down my busy life, and find daily moments of pleasure in eating that I in no way feel guilty about.  Not to mention access to a community of people who are intelligent, engaging, and excited about my most favorite of things – food!

I’ll share everything I know with you – and in turn, please share your experiences with me!

 

This entry was published on February 9, 2012 at 4:19 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “the s(low) down

  1. Since finding out about Diego’s aerilgles to gluten and dairy we have been buying more organic food from stores like Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. Recently I started checking out the farmers market to see if we could safe some money with our veggies and I was very surprised to find soooo many farmers offering their produce even when we life in the middle of the desert! The veggies taste great, at a very good price, and the people at the farmers market are just super nice! Another book that is quite interesting about food is the “Body Ecology Diet” by Donna Gates. It’s maybe more focused on health issues, but we learned about tons of amazing food to help Diego.

Leave a Reply

